EMS In The News
Library / Reference
Contact Info


Dr. Jeffery Messerly
Dr. Jeffery Messerly has been the medical director for MercyOne Elkader Ambulance since April 2021. He has been an Emergency Room physician also in Elkader since 2020 and works full time as a Board Certified ER Doc at MercyOne Dubuque. Dr. Messerly graduated from Des Moines University in 2014 and did his residency at the U of I. He is a very strong advocate for EMS and strives to keep EMS on the streets. He has served as an advisor for Clayton County EMS Association many times. Dr. Messerly is active with EMS protocols, training, and CQI with Elkader Ambulance. While working full time in Dubuque and living in that area with an active family, Dr. Messerly still finds time to attend EMS training and meetings in Elkader. Not only is he the Medical Director for the ambulance but also the Medical Director of the Emergency Department for MercyOne Elkader Medical Center, which just received the award of Level IV trauma Center of the Year 2022 given by Iowa Department of Public Health. Often you will find Dr. Messerly logging into Image Trend, reviewing all EMS calls, and giving great feedback and education to not only the advanced levels but also the basic level providers. Also, it is common for Dr. Messerly to be active in meetings. He hosts an education for the local Providers in Elkader. He is very up to date on the constant change of medicine and is always a student to anything that he can gain more knowledge on. To find an EMS Medical Director that comes to meetings, trainings, special events and even fund raisers is unheard of. 

Back to Honorees

IEMSA Memorial
If you were unable to attend the EMS Memorial Dedication in person or would like to relive this memorable event, you can now view a portion of this moving presentation from the comfort of your device.
IEMSA Categories
  • Instructor of the Year
  • Dispatcher of the Year
  • Friend of EMS
  • Volunteer Individual
    EMS Provider
  • Career Individual EMS Provider
  • Volunteer EMS Service
  • Career Service
  • Hall of Fame
  • Legislator of the Year
  • EMS Physician of the Year




Home | Membership | EMS In The News | Legislature | Training | Opportunities | Conference | Awards | Scholarships | Merchandise | Paramedicine | Library | Contact Info
Copyright 2008-2024 Iowa Emergency Medical Services Association.